Polo Times Magazine Subscribe to Polo Times Home
HomeNewsTournamentsClassifiedsAbout usSubscribeContact
 
 
 
 

Tue 7th Aug 2018

Play Underway in Sotogrande

47th annual Torneo Internacional de Polo

With the Sotogrande high goal season now well and truly underway at Santa María Polo Club, Dubai defeated Bardon in the first fixture of the 47th annual Torneo Internacional de Polo. Rashid Albawardy’s team claimed the title in the high goal Bronze Cup on Sunday 29 July with a 12-10 final score.

The Silver Cup is currently underway, with Dubai leading the charge initially against La Indiana, with an 11-10 victory in extra time on Thursday 2 August. The following day, the Ayala Polo Team lifted the medium handicap Copa de Bronce Estrella Damm, whilst Sotoisola won the low goal Copa de Bronce Isolas 1892. The Silver Cup continued the same day with Lechuza Caracas defeating Dos Lunas 15-11 in their first victory of the tournament. On Saturday 4 August, La Indiana turned their high goal tables with an 11-8 win against Bardon in The Silver Cup to end the week’s high goal matches. Yesterday, in the medium goal Silver Cup, three matches were played, with victories for Sainte Mesme, Cotton House and Ayala Polo Team. Eight teams are participating in the medium goal version of the tournament, which is divided into two leagues.
Play continues this week, with high, medium and low goal excitement from the 47th annual Torneo Internacional de Polo across the board at Santa María Polo Club. The Final of the high goal Silver Cup will take place on Saturday 11 August, with other finals later on in the month. For more information, please click here.
 
Photograph: Play is underway in the 47th annual Torneo Internacional de Polo at Santa Maria Polo Club in Sotogrande. By Snoopy Productions/Santa María Polo Club

Follow Polotimes on Twitter
 

Other top stories


Wed 22nd May 2019
Cartier Queen’s Cup Underway
Park Place secure first win

Tue 21st May 2019
The Copenhagen Cup
Wellington College triumph at Guards

Mon 20th May 2019
UK Weekend Round-Up
Four 15-22 goal Finals

Fri 17th May 2019
Terry Hanlon's Funeral
Date and Location Announcement

Thu 16th May 2019
The Prince of Wales Trophy Final
Dubai and Marchfield to battle for coveted trophy

Tue 14th May 2019
Royal Windsor Horse Show
Polo Pony Class results

Mon 13th May 2019
UK High Goal Update
Action at Cowdray & Berkshire

Thu 9th May 2019
UK High Goal Has Begun
Prince of Wales Trophy Underway

Tue 7th May 2019
Terry Hanlon Passes Away
Famous commentator and player dies

Tue 7th May 2019
Cartier Queen’s Cup Draw
Guards High Goal is underway

Thu 2nd May 2019
Polo Times Out Now!
May issue of Polo Times

Wed 1st May 2019
USA End of Season Handicap Changes
Gonzalito Pieres and Hazel Jackson-Gaona go to 10

Tue 30th Apr 2019
U.S Polo Assn. Wins in Miami
World Polo League Beach Polo Miami Beach Cup

Mon 29th Apr 2019
USA Secures Iconic International Title
The Westchester Cup

Fri 26th Apr 2019
Asian Beach Polo Championship 2019
10th Anniversary in Hua Hin

Fri 26th Apr 2019
News from Argentina
2019 Triple Crown format confirmed

Wed 24th Apr 2019
UK High Goal Season Set to Start
Prince of Wales at The Royal County of Berkshire Polo Club

See all news in:


End of Polo Times news page

Advertiser information Contact us Subscribe Work for us All information is subject to copyright 2015

Highlights

Latest Classified

Latest Classified

Financial Services > Loans > Other loans we offer available cash Instant cash...
 Get into Polo

Get started in polo

Information on how to get started in polo
 Destination of the Month

The global game

Holidays and breaks playing or following polo around the world
 Wallpapers

Online magazine

Login to read current and back issues of the magazine
 Find your nearest club

Club contacts

Find your nearest polo club
Cookies in Use