Polo Times Magazine Subscribe to Polo Times Home
HomeNewsTournamentsClassifiedsAbout usSubscribeContact
 
 
 
 

Tue 7th Aug 2018

Play Underway in Sotogrande

47th annual Torneo Internacional de Polo

With the Sotogrande high goal season now well and truly underway at Santa María Polo Club, Dubai defeated Bardon in the first fixture of the 47th annual Torneo Internacional de Polo. Rashid Albawardy’s team claimed the title in the high goal Bronze Cup on Sunday 29 July with a 12-10 final score.

The Silver Cup is currently underway, with Dubai leading the charge initially against La Indiana, with an 11-10 victory in extra time on Thursday 2 August. The following day, the Ayala Polo Team lifted the medium handicap Copa de Bronce Estrella Damm, whilst Sotoisola won the low goal Copa de Bronce Isolas 1892. The Silver Cup continued the same day with Lechuza Caracas defeating Dos Lunas 15-11 in their first victory of the tournament. On Saturday 4 August, La Indiana turned their high goal tables with an 11-8 win against Bardon in The Silver Cup to end the week’s high goal matches. Yesterday, in the medium goal Silver Cup, three matches were played, with victories for Sainte Mesme, Cotton House and Ayala Polo Team. Eight teams are participating in the medium goal version of the tournament, which is divided into two leagues.
Play continues this week, with high, medium and low goal excitement from the 47th annual Torneo Internacional de Polo across the board at Santa María Polo Club. The Final of the high goal Silver Cup will take place on Saturday 11 August, with other finals later on in the month. For more information, please click here.
 
Photograph: Play is underway in the 47th annual Torneo Internacional de Polo at Santa Maria Polo Club in Sotogrande. By Snoopy Productions/Santa María Polo Club

Follow Polotimes on Twitter
 

Other top stories


Tue 19th Feb 2019
Flannels England Team Announced
Team confirmed for The Playnation International Test Match for The Bryan Morrison Trophy

Mon 18th Feb 2019
Inaugural All Star Challenge Draw Final
Valiente make history at Grand Champions

Fri 15th Feb 2019
C.V. Whitney Cup Underway
USA high goal in full swing

Wed 13th Feb 2019
Ylvisaker Cup Final
Dutta Corp secure third trophy of US season

Mon 11th Feb 2019
SUPA University Winter Nationals
Record breaking number of teams compete

Fri 8th Feb 2019
Playnation Arena International Teams Announced
Flannels England & France vie for The Bryan Morrison Trophy

Thu 7th Feb 2019
Visa Update
News from Hurlingham Polo Association

Thu 7th Feb 2019
Equine Influenza
Outbreak of Equine Influenza in British horse racing

Wed 6th Feb 2019
Ylvisaker Cup Continues
La Indiana, Dutta Corp, Pilot and Patagones in the Semi Finals

Tue 5th Feb 2019
Silver Cup Semi Finals Set
Al Habtoor Polo Resort & Club welcome international teams

Mon 4th Feb 2019
Playnation Arena Polo Test Match
The upcoming Bryan Morrison Trophy

Fri 1st Feb 2019
Polo Times Out Now!
February issue is out now!

Thu 31st Jan 2019
Australia International Team Announced
HPA release names of Flannels England team

Wed 30th Jan 2019
USA Defeat English Arena Sides
Three consecutive international matches see USA reign supreme

Sun 27th Jan 2019
Snow Polo History Made Today
The Snow Polo World Cup St. Moritz 2019 Finals

Sat 26th Jan 2019
Maserati & Badrutt's Palace Secure Places in St. Moritz Final
Snow, sun, spills and thrills delight alpine crowds

Fri 25th Jan 2019
Snow Polo World Cup St. Moritz Starts
Fantastic first day of sparkling snow polo action

Wed 23rd Jan 2019
Snow Polo World Cup St. Moritz
Only one day before the world turns its eyes to Switzerland

See all news in:


End of Polo Times news page

Advertiser information Contact us Subscribe Work for us All information is subject to copyright 2015

Highlights

Latest Classified

Latest Classified

Apply for secure loan Whats-app us on +918376957627 for loan 3% yearly email:...
 Get into Polo

Get started in polo

Information on how to get started in polo
 Destination of the Month

The global game

Holidays and breaks playing or following polo around the world
 Wallpapers

Online magazine

Login to read current and back issues of the magazine
 Find your nearest club

Club contacts

Find your nearest polo club
Cookies in Use