Polo Times Magazine Subscribe to Polo Times Home
HomeNewsTournamentsClassifiedsAbout usSubscribeContact
 
 
 
 

Thu 18th Apr 2019

US Open Final

Las Monjitas join Pilot in Sunday's Final

Following an exceedingly close match today (Thursday 18 April), Las Monjitas have joined Pilot in the Final of The US Open Polo Championship, the final instalment of the inaugural Gauntlet of Polo at The International Polo Club, Palm Beach, set to take place on Sunday 21 April. 

Throughout the match, the teams were tied, scoring goals tit-for-tat, with both teams resting on 9-9 midway through the fifth chukka. Going into the sixth chukka, Tonkawa began with a 10-9 lead, then pushing it to 11-9. Las Monjitas came back fighitng, quickly securing two goals to even the scoreboard again at 11-11, then stepping into the lead for the first time in this chukka, 12-11. But as the clock wound down, Las Monjitas secured the coveted second spot in the Final alongside Pilot with a 14-12 final score. 

The US Open Second Semi Final Teams:
Tonkawa (21): Jeff Hildebrand (0), Agustin ‘Tincho’ Merlos (8), Guillermo ‘Sapo’ Caset (10) & Sterling Giannico (4)  
Las Monjitas (22): Camilo Bautista (0), Francisco Elizalde (8), Hilario Ulloa (10) & Matt Coppola (4)  
 
Photograph: Las Monjitas has joined Pilot in The US Open Polo Championship Final on Sunday 21 April. Courtesy of the USPA

Follow Polotimes on Twitter
 

Other top stories


Wed 22nd May 2019
Cartier Queen’s Cup Underway
Park Place secure first win

Tue 21st May 2019
The Copenhagen Cup
Wellington College triumph at Guards

Mon 20th May 2019
UK Weekend Round-Up
Four 15-22 goal Finals

Fri 17th May 2019
Terry Hanlon's Funeral
Date and Location Announcement

Thu 16th May 2019
The Prince of Wales Trophy Final
Dubai and Marchfield to battle for coveted trophy

Tue 14th May 2019
Royal Windsor Horse Show
Polo Pony Class results

Mon 13th May 2019
UK High Goal Update
Action at Cowdray & Berkshire

Thu 9th May 2019
UK High Goal Has Begun
Prince of Wales Trophy Underway

Tue 7th May 2019
Terry Hanlon Passes Away
Famous commentator and player dies

Tue 7th May 2019
Cartier Queen’s Cup Draw
Guards High Goal is underway

Thu 2nd May 2019
Polo Times Out Now!
May issue of Polo Times

Wed 1st May 2019
USA End of Season Handicap Changes
Gonzalito Pieres and Hazel Jackson-Gaona go to 10

Tue 30th Apr 2019
U.S Polo Assn. Wins in Miami
World Polo League Beach Polo Miami Beach Cup

Mon 29th Apr 2019
USA Secures Iconic International Title
The Westchester Cup

Fri 26th Apr 2019
Asian Beach Polo Championship 2019
10th Anniversary in Hua Hin

Fri 26th Apr 2019
News from Argentina
2019 Triple Crown format confirmed

Wed 24th Apr 2019
UK High Goal Season Set to Start
Prince of Wales at The Royal County of Berkshire Polo Club

See all news in:


End of Polo Times news page

Advertiser information Contact us Subscribe Work for us All information is subject to copyright 2015

Highlights

Latest Classified

Latest Classified

Financial Services > Loans > Other loans we offer available cash Instant cash...
 Get into Polo

Get started in polo

Information on how to get started in polo
 Destination of the Month

The global game

Holidays and breaks playing or following polo around the world
 Wallpapers

Online magazine

Login to read current and back issues of the magazine
 Find your nearest club

Club contacts

Find your nearest polo club
Cookies in Use