Polo Times Magazine Subscribe to Polo Times Home
HomeNewsTournamentsClassifiedsAbout usSubscribeContact
 
 
 
 

Thu 2nd Jul 2020

King Power Gold Cup Teams & Schedule

Opening wins for Les Lions/ Great Oaks & Park Place

Yesterday, Wednesday 1 July saw the start of the 2020 King Power Gold Cup for The British Open at Cowdray Park Polo Club with opening matches between Les Lions/Great Oaks vs Next Generation and Park Place vs Park Place Vaara. Both Les Lions/Great Oaks and Park Place secured victories. 
The first match of the day saw a 14-10 win for Les Lions/Great Oaks against Next Generation for the Carlos Gracida Memorial Trophy, featuring the father-son Cambiaso duo, with Barto Castagnola scoring an impressive nine goals for his team while his brother Camilo ‘Jeta’ Castagnola’s mare Cielito, ridden by Alejandro Muzzio, was named as the Best Playing Pony. 
The second match of the day saw two teams from the same polo set-up face each other with Park Place vs Park Place Vaara. Park Place, fresh from their Prince of Wales Final win last week defeated Park Place Vaara 10-8 in an incredibly hard fought match, which saw Park Place secure four goals in the final chukka to take the win.  
Today, Tuesday 2 July saw the action continue with a 10-9 win for Monterosso vs Thai Polo NW at 12pm and later today with Polo Stud Schockemöhle vs Scone (3pm). 
With all matches are closed to spectators and being played behind closed doors, you can still catch all the live action via Cowdray TV here
 
King Power Gold Cup Schedule:
Sunday 5 July: 12pm Les Lions/Great Oaks vs Scone & 3pm Polo Stud Schockemöhle vs Park Place Vaara
Monday 6 July: 12pm Monterosso vs Next Generation & 3pm Park Place vs Thai Polo NW
Thursday 9 July: 12pm Les Lions/Great Oaks vs Park Place Vaara & Park Place vs Next Generation
Friday 10 July – Argentine Ambassador’s Cup: 12pm Monterosso vs Scone & 3pm Polo Stud Schockemöhle vs Thai Polo NW
Tuesday 14 July: Park Place vs Scone & Monterosso vs Park Place Vaara (Time TBC)
Wednesday 15 July: Monterosso vs Park Place Vaara & Les Lions/Great Oaks vs Thai Polo NW (Time TBC)
Saturday 18 July: Centenary Cup Match 1 ¬– Team Ranked 1 vs Team Ranked 6 & Vichai Srivahannabrhaba Match 2 ¬– Team Ranked 4 vs Team Ranked 5
Wednesday 22 July: Ellerston Cup Semi Final Match 4 ¬– Team Ranked 1 vs Winner Match 2 & Tramontana Cup Semi Final Match 4 – Team Ranked 2 vs Winner Match 1
Saturday 25 July: Ashton Silver Cup Subsidiary Final
Sunday 26 July: King Power Gold Cup Final
 
King Power Gold Cup Teams:
Group A
Les Lions/Great Oaks (22): Camilo ‘Jeta’ Castagnola/Alejandro Muzzio (7), Dillon Bacon (2), Barto Castagnola (7) & Santiago Laborde (6)
Monterosso (22): Alessandro Bazzoni (0), Guillermo Terrera (8), Ignacio Toccalino (8) & Jeronimo del Carril (6)
Park Place (22): Andrey Borodin (0), Kian Hall (3), Gonzalito Pieres (9) & Facundo Pieres (10)
Polo Stud Schockemöhle (19): Echard Jules (0), Patrick Maleitzke (4), Jaime Huidobro (7) & Diego Cavanagh (8)
Group B
Next Generation (22): Jean-Francois Decaux (0), David ‘Pelón’ Stirling (9) Adolfo Cambiaso Jnr (3) & Adolfo Cambiaso (10)
Park Place Vaara (22): Zac Beim (1), Will Harper (3), Juan Britos (8) & Hilario Ulloa (10)
Scone (22): David Paradice (0), Ollie Cudmore (6), Nico Pieres (9) & James Harper (7)
Thai Polo NW (22): Ned Hine (3), Jack Richardson (6), Juan Martin Zubia (7) & Rodrigo Rueda (6)
 
Photograph: Action from Day 1 of The King Power Gold Cup Final, Next Generation were defeated by Les Lions/Great Oaks. By Mark Beaumont Photography
 

Follow Polotimes on Twitter
 

Other top stories


Tue 4th Aug 2020
Polo Times Out This Week!
August issue arriving soon

Mon 3rd Aug 2020
Cartier Queen’s Cup Update
Weekend wins for Park Place & Scone Polo

Fri 31st Jul 2020
Cartier Queen’s Cup Week 1
Wins for Thai Polo, MT Vikings, Monterosso & Park Place

Thu 30th Jul 2020
International Begins at Santa María
49th MANSION International Polo Tournament

Wed 29th Jul 2020
HPA Mid-Season Handicap Changes
Raises for Castagnola & Cambiaso

Tue 28th Jul 2020
Cartier Queen’s Cup Begins Today!
Scone Polo vs Thai Polo

Mon 27th Jul 2020
Next Generation Secure Gold Cup
Adolfo Cambiaso’s eighth win

Fri 24th Jul 2020
Gold Cup Final This Weekend
Les Lions/Great Oaks vs Next Generation

Thu 23rd Jul 2020
Competitive Polo Resumes at All Levels in England
HPA Update No11

Wed 22nd Jul 2020
King Power Gold Cup Semi Finals Set
Action continues today!

Tue 21st Jul 2020
Victorious Monterosso Vikings
British Ladies Open Final

Mon 20th Jul 2020
Kildare Win Indian Empire Shield
9-7 win against Emlor

Thu 16th Jul 2020
Park Place Secure Two Semi Final Spots
Both organisation’s teams are in The King Power Gold Cup Semi Finals

Wed 15th Jul 2020
King Power Gold Cup & British Ladies Open
Action aplenty at Cowdray Park

Mon 13th Jul 2020
Snakebite Secure Eduardo Moore Final
Emlor Black win Subsidiary Final

Fri 10th Jul 2020
Double Win for Park Place
Day 5 of King Power Gold Cup

Thu 9th Jul 2020
HPA Update No 10
Positive news for polo

Thu 9th Jul 2020
Polo Times July Issue Out Soon!
Packed Knowledge, Feature & Report pages

Tue 7th Jul 2020
Wins for Thai Polo NW & Next Generation
King Power Gold Cup round two results

Mon 6th Jul 2020
Hildon Archie David Cup Final
Convincing win for Clarita

See all news in:


End of Polo Times news page

Advertiser information Contact us Subscribe Work for us All information is subject to copyright 2015

Highlights

Latest Classified

Latest Classified

Up to 6 Polo Ponies For Sale! 4 to 12 yrs. Ready to be tried at private ground ...
 Get into Polo

Get started in polo

Information on how to get started in polo
 Destination of the Month

The global game

Holidays and breaks playing or following polo around the world
 Wallpapers

Online magazine

Login to read current and back issues of the magazine
 Find your nearest club

Club contacts

Find your nearest polo club
Cookies in Use