Polo Times Magazine Subscribe to Polo Times Home
HomeNewsTournamentsClassifiedsAbout usSubscribeContact
 
 
 
 

Fri 31st Jul 2020

Cartier Queen’s Cup Week 1

Wins for Thai Polo, MT Vikings, Monterosso & Park Place

The Cartier Queen’s Cup is the last of the English high goal tournaments this season and the action began earlier this week on Tuesday 28 July with action every day since. 2020 marks the 60th anniversary of this prestigious tournament, which over the past six decades as seen some of the best polo players add their name to the trophy, 
Thai Polo kicked off proceedings on Tuesday 28 July with a 9-7 win against 2019 Queen’s Cup winners, Scone Polo. The following day, Wednesday 29 July, saw a double win for the Monterosso organisation as MT Vikings defeated Park Place Vaara 9-7 and Monterosso secured a 13-10 win against Polo Stud Schockemöhle. Thursday 30 July saw a narrow 12-11 win for Gold Cup Semi Finalists Park Place against Segavas, a newcomer to the 2020 English high goal. Today, Friday 31 July, sees King Power Gold Cup finalists (Les Lions/Great Oaks and Next Generation) in their first Cartier Queen’s Cup matches; Les Lions/Great Oaks vs Thai Polo at 12pm and Next Generation vs Polo Stud Schockemöhle at 3pm. 
Although the matches are being played behind closed doors, all the action is being livestreamed via GuardsTV.  
 
The Cartier Queen’s Cup Schedule:
Friday 31 July: Les Lions/Great Oaks vs Thai Polo (12pm) & Next Generation vs Polo Stud Schockemöhle (4pm)
Sunday 2 August: Park Place Vaara vs Scone Polo (12pm) & Monterosso vs Park Place (3pm)
Monday 3 August: Next Generation vs Segavas (3pm)
Tuesday 4 August: Les Lions/Great Oaks vs Monterosso Vikings (3pm)
Wednesday 5 August: Park Place Vaara vs Thai Polo (12pm) & Park Place vs Polo Stud Schockemöhle (3pm)
Friday 7 August: Monterosso vs Next Generation (12pm) & Les Lions/Great Oaks vs Scone Polo (3pm)
Saturday 8 August: Polo Stud Schockemöhle vs Segavas (12pm) 
Sunday 9 August: Monterosso Vikings vs Thai Polo (3pm)
Tuesday 11 August: Monterosso vs Segavas & Next Generation vs Park Place
Wednesday 12 August: Monterosso Vikings vs Scone Polo & Les Lions/Great Oaks vs Park Place Vaara
Saturday 15 August: Knockout phase matches x2
Sunday 16 August: Knockout phase matches x2
Wednesday 19 August: Semi Finals
Thursday 20 August: Subsidiary Semi Finals 
Sunday 23 August: Subsidiary Final 
 
Cartier Queen’s Cup Teams:
League One
Scone Polo (22): Ollie Cudmore (6), James Harper (7), Nicolas Pieres (9) & David Paradice (0)
Thai Polo (21): Jack Richardson (6), Michel Del Carril (6) Tomas Beresford (6) & Ned Hine (3)
Monterosso Vikings (22): James Beim (7), Sebastian Merlos (8), Holly Butler (0) & Juan Martin Zubia (7)
Park Place Vaara (22): Juan Britos (8), Will Harper (3), Hilario Ulloa (10) & Zac Beim (1)
Les Lions/Great Oaks (23): Dillon Bacon (2), Santiago Laborde (6), Camilo Castagnola (7) & Bartolome Castagnola Jnr (8)
League Two
Monterosso (22): Jeronimo Del Carril (6), Alessandro Bazzoni (1), Ignacio Toccalino (8) &
Guillermo Terrera (7)
Polo Stud Schockemöhle (19): Juan Gris Zavaleta (7), Jaime Huidobro (7), TBC (0) & Patrick Maleitzke (4)
Park Place (22): Kian Hall (3), Andrey Borodin (0), Gonzalito Pieres (9) & Facundo Pieres (10)
Segavas (22): Joaquin Pittuluga (7), Mark Tomlinson (6), John Paul Clarkin (6) & Luke Wiles (3)
Next Generation (23): Diego Cavanagh (8), Jean-Francois Decaux (0), Adolfo Cambiaso (10) & Adolfo ‘Poroto’ Cambiaso Jnr (5)
 
Photograph: James Beim & Hilario Ulloa in action. By ©www.imagesofpolo.com
 
 

 


Follow Polotimes on Twitter
 

Other top stories


Tue 4th Aug 2020
Polo Times Out This Week!
August issue arriving soon

Mon 3rd Aug 2020
Cartier Queen’s Cup Update
Weekend wins for Park Place & Scone Polo

Fri 31st Jul 2020
Cartier Queen’s Cup Week 1
Wins for Thai Polo, MT Vikings, Monterosso & Park Place

Thu 30th Jul 2020
International Begins at Santa María
49th MANSION International Polo Tournament

Wed 29th Jul 2020
HPA Mid-Season Handicap Changes
Raises for Castagnola & Cambiaso

Tue 28th Jul 2020
Cartier Queen’s Cup Begins Today!
Scone Polo vs Thai Polo

Mon 27th Jul 2020
Next Generation Secure Gold Cup
Adolfo Cambiaso’s eighth win

Fri 24th Jul 2020
Gold Cup Final This Weekend
Les Lions/Great Oaks vs Next Generation

Thu 23rd Jul 2020
Competitive Polo Resumes at All Levels in England
HPA Update No11

Wed 22nd Jul 2020
King Power Gold Cup Semi Finals Set
Action continues today!

Tue 21st Jul 2020
Victorious Monterosso Vikings
British Ladies Open Final

Mon 20th Jul 2020
Kildare Win Indian Empire Shield
9-7 win against Emlor

Thu 16th Jul 2020
Park Place Secure Two Semi Final Spots
Both organisation’s teams are in The King Power Gold Cup Semi Finals

Wed 15th Jul 2020
King Power Gold Cup & British Ladies Open
Action aplenty at Cowdray Park

Mon 13th Jul 2020
Snakebite Secure Eduardo Moore Final
Emlor Black win Subsidiary Final

Fri 10th Jul 2020
Double Win for Park Place
Day 5 of King Power Gold Cup

Thu 9th Jul 2020
HPA Update No 10
Positive news for polo

Thu 9th Jul 2020
Polo Times July Issue Out Soon!
Packed Knowledge, Feature & Report pages

Tue 7th Jul 2020
Wins for Thai Polo NW & Next Generation
King Power Gold Cup round two results

Mon 6th Jul 2020
Hildon Archie David Cup Final
Convincing win for Clarita

See all news in:


End of Polo Times news page

Advertiser information Contact us Subscribe Work for us All information is subject to copyright 2015

Highlights

Latest Classified

Latest Classified

Up to 6 Polo Ponies For Sale! 4 to 12 yrs. Ready to be tried at private ground ...
 Get into Polo

Get started in polo

Information on how to get started in polo
 Destination of the Month

The global game

Holidays and breaks playing or following polo around the world
 Wallpapers

Online magazine

Login to read current and back issues of the magazine
 Find your nearest club

Club contacts

Find your nearest polo club
Cookies in Use