Polo Times Magazine Subscribe to Polo Times Home
HomeNewsTournamentsClassifiedsAbout usSubscribeContact

Fri 27th Nov 2020

127th HSBC Argentine Open Begins This Weekend

Full schedule & team lists

Tomorrow, Saturday 28 November, the 127th HSBC Argentine Open will begin, with 10 teams pitted against one another. Zone A will see La Dolfina Saudi line-up complete once again after being plagued by injuries earlier in the season and seeking their eight consecutive title, while Zone B will feature Ellerstina, recent winners of both the 80th Tortugas Open and the 127th RUS Hurlingham Open and therefore the only team eligible for the Argentine Triple Crown title this year. 
The team lists sees five players make their Argentine Open debuts, with Martín Podestá, Santiago Loza, Tomás Fernández Llorente, Pedro Falabella and Segundo Bocchino all competing in the illustrious time for the first time. 
127th HSBC Argentine Open Schedule:
Saturday 28 November (Zone A): RS Murus Sanctus vs. La Irenita II (P1) & La Natividad Las Monjitas vs. La Irenita (P2)
Sunday 29 November (Zone B): La Dolfina Polo Ranch vs. Cría GT (P3) & Los Machitos vs. La Ensenada La Aguada (P4)
Tuesday 1 December (Zone A): Winner P2 vs La Irenita II &  La Dolfina Saudi vs Loser P2
Wednesday 2 December (Zone B): Winner P4 vs Cría GT & Ellerstina vs Loser P4
Saturday 5 December (Zone A): La Dolfina Saudi vs. La Irenita II & RS Murus Sanctus vs. Winner P2
Sunday 6 December (Zone B): Ellerstina vs. Cría GT & La Dolfina Polo Ranch vs Winner P4
The remaining four qualifying days will be held on Tuesday 8 December, Wednesday 9 December, Saturday 12 December and Sunday 13 December, with the Final scheduled for Saturday 19 December. 
127th HSBC Argentine Open Teams:
Zone A
La Dolfina Saudi (40): Adolfo Cambiaso (10), David Stirling (10), Pablo Mac Donough (10) & Juan Martin Nero (10)
La Natividad/Las Monjitas (36): Camilo Castagnola (8), Pablo Pieres (10), Barto Castagnola (9) & Ignatius Du Plessis (9) 
RS Murus Sanctus (35): Facundo Sola (9), Francisco Elizalde (8), Guillermo Caset (10) & Alfredo Cappella Barabucci (8) 
La Irenita (30): Martín Podestá (7), Juan Martín Zavaleta (8), Facundo Fernández Llorente (7) & Juan Martín Zubía (8) 
La Irenita II (29): Santiago Loza (7), Tomás Fernández Llorente (7), Juan Ruiz Guiñazú (8) & Pedro Falabella (7)
Zone B
Ellerstina Johor (39): Facundo Pieres (10), Hilario Ulloa (10), Gonzalo Pieres (9) & Nico Pieres (10
La Dolfina Polo Ranch (33): Guillermo Terrera (8), Juan Britos (8), Diego Cavanagh (9) & Alejo Taranco (8) 
Los Machitos (31): Agustín Merlos (8), Ignacio Toccalino (8), Mariano Aguerre (7) & Santiago Toccalino (8) 
La Ensenada/La Aguada (29): Segundo Bocchino (6), Alfredo Bigatti (8), Matías Torres Zavaleta (8) & Jerónimo Del Carril (7) 
Cría GT (32): Valerio Zubiaurre (8), Cristian Laprida (8), Joaquín Pittaluga (8) & Ignacio Laprida (8)
Photograph: Ellerstina are the only team eligible to win the 2020 Argentine Triple Crown. By Matías Callejo / Prensa AAP

Follow Polotimes on Twitter

Other top stories

Mon 18th Jan 2021
Santa Clara Secure Joe Barry
Win for Escobar & Magrini families

Fri 15th Jan 2021
Joe Barry Memorial Cup Final This Sunday
Santa Clara vs Beverly Polo

Mon 11th Jan 2021
Action from the USA at International Polo Club Palm Beach
Joe Barry Memorial Cup Underway

Fri 8th Jan 2021
English Polo on Pause
Government urges country to stay at home

See all news in:

End of Polo Times news page

Advertiser information Contact us Subscribe Work for us All information is subject to copyright 2015


Latest Classified

Latest Classified

 Get into Polo

Get started in polo

Information on how to get started in polo
 Destination of the Month

The global game

Holidays and breaks playing or following polo around the world

Online magazine

Login to read current and back issues of the magazine
 Find your nearest club

Club contacts

Find your nearest polo club
Cookies in Use