Polo Times Magazine Subscribe to Polo Times Home
HomeNewsTournamentsClassifiedsAbout usSubscribeContact
 
 
 
 

Tue 6th Apr 2021

US Open Quarter Finals Nearly Set

Cessna, Tonkawa, Park Place, Pilot, La Indiana, Scone & Coca Cola secure places

Yesterday, Monday 5 April, The US Open Polo Championship continued at International Polo Club Palm Beach (IPC); despite a line-up change seeing Sayyu Dantata Jr substituting for David Paradice, Scone claimed a 10-7 win over Coca Cola. 
Earlier in the weekend, Pilot and Tonkawa had enjoyed wins against Santa Clara and Cessna respectively on Sunday 4 April. These results mean that seven out of the eight Quarter Final teams have been decided, with Cessna, Tonkawa, Park Place, Pilot, La Indiana, Scone, Coca Cola all having secured their spots. The eighth and final place will be the winner of the playoff between Aspen-Dutta Corp and Santa Clara scheduled for Thursday 8 April. The Quarter Finals are scheduled to be played this weekend, with Cessna vs Park Place and Coca Cola vs La Indiana on Saturday 10 April, followed by Tonkawa vs Scone and Pilot vs Playoff Winner on Sunday 11 April. The Final will be played on Sunday 18 April; The US Open Polo Championship is the third and final phase of The Gauntlet of Polo. So far this season, Park Place secured the first trophy of the series (The C.V. Whitney Cup) and Scone lifted the second title (The USPA Gold Cup) – will either team be able to add The US Open Polo Championship to their trophy cabinet?
 
Photograph: Scone has advanced to The US Open Quarter Finals. By Alex Pacheo
 

Follow Polotimes on Twitter
 

Other top stories


Thu 13th May 2021
Spectators Allowed After 17 May
HPA Summer Polo Procedures

Mon 10th May 2021
Polo Times May Issue Out This Week!
English season beginning

Wed 5th May 2021
Argentine Spring Season Shaping Up
Teams announced for Triple Crown & Classification

Tue 4th May 2021
Justerini & Brooks Prince of Wales
2021 Teams & schedule

Fri 30th Apr 2021
The Prince of Wales’s Championship Cup
New English 22 goal tournament details announced

Wed 28th Apr 2021
USPA Outdoor Handicap Changes
Raises for Britos, Cambiaso Jnr & Castagnola

Mon 26th Apr 2021
Argentine Spring Season Rescheduled
Due to Covid-19 second wave

Sun 25th Apr 2021
Francisco Dorignac 1938 – 2021
Former AAP President & renowned polo player

Wed 21st Apr 2021
Richard Mille Win Triple Crown of Polo
WPL continues today with Beach Polo World Cup

Tue 20th Apr 2021
14 Teams Confirmed for English High Goal
Season begins on 13 May at RCBPC

Mon 19th Apr 2021
Scone Secure US Open!
Father-son Cambiaso duo dominate

Sat 17th Apr 2021
Los Sauces Succeed in Ladies Masters Cup
Seven teams compete in inaugural tournament

Fri 16th Apr 2021
Scone & Park Place Reach Final
US Open Polo Championship

See all news in:


End of Polo Times news page

Advertiser information Contact us Subscribe Work for us All information is subject to copyright 2015

Highlights

Latest Classified

Latest Classified

 Get into Polo

Get started in polo

Information on how to get started in polo
 Destination of the Month

The global game

Holidays and breaks playing or following polo around the world
 Wallpapers

Online magazine

Login to read current and back issues of the magazine
 Find your nearest club

Club contacts

Find your nearest polo club
Cookies in Use