Polo Times Magazine Subscribe to Polo Times Home
HomeNewsTournamentsClassifiedsAbout usSubscribeContact

Wed 5th May 2021

Argentine Spring Season Shaping Up

Teams announced for Triple Crown & Classification

The polo community’s focus is currently upon the impending European seasons, with the annul influx of players underway. However, the Argentine Polo Association (AAP) has announced the eight teams who will compete in the 2021 Argentine Triple Crown as well as the seven teams who will be playing in the Classification tournament for the two spots at Palermo. 
Whilst in previous years there has often been an inevitability of team line-ups, this year sees only Ellerstina and La Natividad Las Monjitas entering the same line-up as last year. La Dolfina sees their traditional 40 goal handicap decrease to 38 with the replacement of Pablo MacDonough and Juan Martín Nero with Francisco Elizalde (9) and Diego Cavanagh (9), which means Ellerstina and RS Murus Sanctus will be the two highest rated teams at 39 goals. 2021 will also see the return of Fred Mannix’s Alegria, who will be playing alongside Agustín Merlos, Tomás García del Río and Pedro Zacharias. 
Meanwhile, the Classification tournament so far has seven teams confirmed, with many line-ups featuring young up-and-coming players; this tournament will also feature second teams for Alegria and La Irenita with Alegria Fish Creek ad La Irentita II. 
2021 Triple Crown Teams:
Ellerstina (39): Facundo Pieres (10), Hilario Ulloa (10), Gonzalo Pieres Jr. (9) & Nicolás Pieres (10) 
RS Murus Sanctus (39): Facundo Sola (9), Guillermo Caset (10), Pablo Mac Donough (10) & Juan Martín Nero (10) 
La Dolfina (38): Adolfo Cambiaso (10,) David Stirling (10), Francisco Elizalde (9) & Diego Cavanagh (9) 
La Natividad Las Monjitas (36): Camilo ‘Jeta’ Castagnola (9), Pablo Pieres (9), Bartolomé Castagnola Jr. (9) & Ignatius du Plessis (9) 
La Ensenada (33): Juan Britos (9), Alfredo Bigatti (8), Juan M. Zubía (8) & Jerónimo del Carril (8) 
La Dolfina Brava (33): Adolfo Cambiaso Jr. (8), Guillermo Terrera (9), Rodrigo Ribeiro de Andrade (8) & Alejo Taranco (8) 
La Irenita (31): Santiago Loza (8), Segundo Bocchino (7), Ignacio Toccalino (8) & Isidro Strada (8) 
Alegría (28): Agustín Merlos (7), Pedro Zacharías (7), Tomás García del Río (7) & Fred Mannix (7) 
2021 Classification Teams:
Alegría Fish Creek (30): Juan Ruiz Guiñazú (8), Clemente Zavaleta (7), Joaquín Pittaluga (7) & Bautista Bayugar (8) 
La Esquina (29): Pascual Sáinz de Vicuña (6), Cristian Laprida (8), Lucas James (7) & Ignacio Laprida (8) 
Chapaleufú (29): Rufino Bensadón (7), Juan Martín Zavaleta (8), Julián de Lusarreta (7) & Felipe Dabas (7)
La Aguada (29): Peke González (7), Manuel Elizalde (7), Miguel Novillo Astrada (8) & Tomás Beresford (7) 
La Fija (28): Raúl Colombres (7), Ezequiel Martínez Ferrario (7), Ignacio Negri (7) & Felipe Vercellino (7) 
La Irenita II (28): Martín Podestá (7), Juan A. García Grossi (7), Facundo Fernández Llorente (7) & Tomás Fernández Llorente (7) 
Los Machitos (28): Victorino Ruiz Jorba (7), Lucas Díaz Alberdi (7), Mariano Aguerre (7) & Martín Aguerre (7) 
Photograph: Ellerstina, as well as RS Murus Sanctus will be the two highest rated teams at 39 goals. By Prensa AAP/Matias Callejo

Follow Polotimes on Twitter

Other top stories

Wed 16th Jun 2021
Polo Rider Cup Semi Finalists
Polo Park Zürich vs Empire Polo Club & Hong Kong Polo vs Deauville Int. Polo Club

Tue 15th Jun 2021
Talacrest to Sponsor Guard’s August 22 Goal
Prince of Wales’s Championship Cup

Mon 14th Jun 2021
Monterosso Remain Undefeated
2021 Cartier Queen’s Cup

Tue 8th Jun 2021
Oxford Retain La Martina Varsity Trophy
Win against historic rivals

Mon 7th Jun 2021
Cartier Queen’s Cup Weekend Action
Wins for Great Oaks LL, UAE Polo, Vikings & Park Place

Sun 6th Jun 2021
Horace Laffaye Passes Away
The Polo Encyclopaedia author

Wed 2nd Jun 2021
Wins for Talandracas and Great Oaks Les Lions
Cartier Queen’s Cup Day 1

Wed 2nd Jun 2021
Delfín Uranga New AAP President

Tue 1st Jun 2021
Cartier Queen’s Cup Begins Today!
15 teams competing in three leagues

Tue 1st Jun 2021
Thai Polo Thrill in Prince of Wales Final
Louis Hine scores golden goal

Thu 27th May 2021
Justerini & Brooks Prince of Wales Final
Thai Polo & Monterosso qualify

Wed 19th May 2021
Cartier Queen’s Cup Draw
15 teams line-up for 2021 tournament

See all news in:

End of Polo Times news page

Advertiser information Contact us Subscribe Work for us All information is subject to copyright 2015


Latest Classified

Latest Classified

POLO BALLS - NEW ZEALAND Postage to Australia is NZ$135, to America is NZ$376,...
 Get into Polo

Get started in polo

Information on how to get started in polo
 Destination of the Month

The global game

Holidays and breaks playing or following polo around the world

Online magazine

Login to read current and back issues of the magazine
 Find your nearest club

Club contacts

Find your nearest polo club
Cookies in Use