Polo Times Magazine Subscribe to Polo Times Home
HomeNewsTournamentsClassifiedsAbout usSubscribeContact
 
 
 
 

Wed 10th Jul 2024

Penalty Shootout Tomorrow to Determine Quarter Finals

La Dolfina Great Oaks, Dubai & Talandracas already qualified

The British Open Polo Championship for The Cowdray Gold Cup is currently in its last qualifying week with the Quarter Finals scheduled for Saturday 13 July at Cowdray Park Polo Club. 
 
Dubai, La Dolfina Great Oaks, La Dolfina Murus Sanctus, Valhalla and Talandracas have already directly qualified for the Quarter Finals, but after the last games were played in League C and D on Tuesday 9 July, six teams (Black Bears, Gaston, La Magdeleine, Sujan Indian Tigers, King Power and Marqués de Riscal) will compete for their place in the Quarter Finals via a penalty shootout tomorrow, Thursday 11 July. The two winners of this penalty shootout will advance to Quarter Finals. UAE and Desert Palm will compete in another penalty shootout with the fourth team within League C/D and the winner will be the eighth team to step into the Quarter Finals.
 
Sujan Indian Tigers had to win their match on Tuesday 9 July against La Magdeleine to secure their penalty shootout spot, with Rufino Bensadon scoring the winning goal in the last minutes of play to the delight of Sujan Indian Tigers’ patron, Jaisal Singh, who is the first Indian player to compete in the tournament in 50 years. The second match of the day saw King Power dominate against Bangash, 14-6, to take their place in Thursday’s penalty shootout. 
 
The Semi Finals are scheduled for Wednesday 17 July and the Finals will be played on Sunday 21 July. 
 
Photograph: Sujan Indian Tigers beat La Magdeleine ro secure their penalty shootout spot. By Mark Beaumont
 

Follow Polotimes on Twitter
 

Other top stories


Tue 16th Jul 2024
Out-Sourcing Inc. Royal Charity Polo Cup Raises £1,000,000


Mon 15th Jul 2024
The British Open Polo Championship for the Cowdray Gold Cup Semi Finalists
La Dolfina Great Oaks vs King Power & Dubai vs Talandracas

Fri 12th Jul 2024
Thoroughbreds In Sport Polo Day
38 horses competed in three classes

Thu 11th Jul 2024
Cowdray Gold Cup Quarter Finalists Decided
Quarter Finals scheduled for 13 – 14 July

Wed 10th Jul 2024
Penalty Shootout Tomorrow to Determine Quarter Finals
La Dolfina Great Oaks, Dubai & Talandracas already qualified

Fri 5th Jul 2024
England Coronation Cup Team Confirmed
Argentina vs England on Saturday 27 July at Guards Polo Club

Wed 3rd Jul 2024
AAP Announces Spring Season Dates
Triple Crown will begin on 24 September

Tue 2nd Jul 2024
Polo Times July Issue Out This Week!
Packed with reports from across the UK & much more!

Mon 1st Jul 2024
Emlor Black Win Apsley Cup
Narrow 10-9 win against Aureus Polo

Fri 28th Jun 2024
British Open Polo Championship for the Cowdray Gold Cup
Results & Upcoming Fixtures

Wed 26th Jun 2024
England Win Diamond Jubilee Trophy
6-3 triumph over Argentina

Tue 25th Jun 2024
Ferne Park Win Warwickshire Cup
11-9 victory against Green Gates

Mon 24th Jun 2024
Occitanie Lift Polo Nations Cup
MVP Simon Zavaleta scores seven of his team’s goals

Tue 18th Jun 2024
Lycetts International Thoroughbred Polo Championship Returns on 5 July
Three classes, live auction & £20,000 prize money

See all news in:


End of Polo Times news page

Advertiser information Contact us Subscribe Work for us All information is subject to copyright 2015

Highlights

Latest Classified

Latest Classified

 Get into Polo

Get started in polo

Information on how to get started in polo
 Destination of the Month

The global game

Holidays and breaks playing or following polo around the world
 Wallpapers

Online magazine

Login to read current and back issues of the magazine
 Find your nearest club

Club contacts

Find your nearest polo club
Cookies in Use