Polo Times Magazine Subscribe to Polo Times Home
HomeNewsTournamentsClassifiedsAbout usSubscribeContact

Mon 19th Aug 2019

Brunei & Ayala Reign in Sotogrande

48th Torneo Internacional Mansion de Polo

The 48th Torneo Internacional Mansion de Polo continues at Santa María Polo Club with two exciting Finals having taken place over the weekend.
The weekend began with the low goal Copa de Plata Isola 1892 Final, in which La Esperanza defeated Rhone Hill, 9-8. It was a close fought match until the very last moments, when La Esperanza raced ahead to take home the victory. The day’s play continued with the Final of the medium goal Royal Bliss Copa de Plata Final. Ayala took home their second win of the Spanish tournament, with a 14-9 win over rivals Royal Salute (sporting two British players – Malcolm Borwick and Jaime Le Hardy). The first half of the match was a close affair, but following half-time, Ayala took control. Ayala’s Lucas James was named Most Valuable Player, whilst Regalona, ridden by Iñigo Zobel was named Best Playing Pony.
On Saturday 17 August, Brunei continued to show their strength, winning the high goal Royal Bliss Copa de Plata 10-9 against rivals MB Polo. Their 10 goal powerhouse, Juan Martín Nero, was named Most Valuable Player in front of thousands of excited spectators, with the match followed by The White Summer Festival to round the day’s play off.
The Copa de Plata Isola 1892 Final Teams:
La Esperanza (6): Fernando de la Infiesta (0), Pascual Alvarez (1), Yago Espinosa (2) & Rosendo Torreguitar (3)
Rhone Hill (6): Jemima Heffron (0), Nico Lopez Fuentes (3), Gonzalo Lopez Vargas (4) & Chris Heffron (-1)
The Royal Bliss Copa de Plata Mediano Final Teams:
Ayala (14): Mackenzie Weiss (3), Lucas James (7), Santiago Gómez-Romero (4) & Iñigo Zobel (0)
Royal Salute (14): Rafael Cabezas (0), Jaime Le Hardy (5), Diogo Gallego (5) & Malcolm Borwick (5)
The Royal Bliss Copa de Plata Alto Final Teams:
Brunei (19): Bahar Jefri (1), Camilo Castagnola (5), Juan Martín Nero (10) & Santiago Stirling (3)
MB Polo (20): Matheen Bolkiah (0), Tomas Panelo (4), Polito Pieres (10) & Tommy Beresford (6)
Photograph: Brunei are crowned Royal Bliss Copa de Plata Alto winners. Courtesy of Santa María Polo Club

Follow Polotimes on Twitter

Other top stories

Wed 11th Sep 2019
Vision for Polo
A realistic goal or rose-tinted glasses?

Tue 10th Sep 2019
RoR Racing to Polo Challenge
Winners at RCBPC

Mon 9th Sep 2019
La Dolfina Victorious
Father & son secure 52nd San Jorge Open

Wed 4th Sep 2019
22 Goal and Victor Ludorum Handicaps
HPA Releases End of Season List

Tue 3rd Sep 2019
Polo Times Out Now
September Issue of Polo Times

Mon 2nd Sep 2019
Sotogrande Gold Cups
Wins for Brunei, MB Polo & Rhone Hill

Fri 30th Aug 2019
55th Jockey Club Open
Teams announced

Thu 29th Aug 2019
48 Torneo Internacional de Polo
LG Signature Gold Cup Medium Goal Final set

Tue 27th Aug 2019
Sotogrande Semi Finalists
The LG Signature Gold Cup continues

Thu 22nd Aug 2019
Arena Polo 2019/2020 Spur Ban
Trial for new measure

Wed 21st Aug 2019
Robert Graham
Robert Graham very sadly passes away

Tue 20th Aug 2019
British Junior HPA Championships
Stagshead Trophy

Mon 19th Aug 2019
Brunei & Ayala Reign in Sotogrande
48th Torneo Internacional Mansion de Polo

See all news in:

End of Polo Times news page

Advertiser information Contact us Subscribe Work for us All information is subject to copyright 2015


Latest Classified

Latest Classified

 Get into Polo

Get started in polo

Information on how to get started in polo
 Destination of the Month

The global game

Holidays and breaks playing or following polo around the world

Online magazine

Login to read current and back issues of the magazine
 Find your nearest club

Club contacts

Find your nearest polo club
Cookies in Use