Polo Times Magazine Subscribe to Polo Times Home
HomeNewsTournamentsClassifiedsAbout usSubscribeContact

Tue 17th Nov 2020

Cría GT & La Irenita II Qualify

Both teams secure places in 2020 Argentine Open

Yesterday, Monday 16 November, four teams battled it out for the two remaining places in the 2020 Argentine Open. 
The first match of the day at Field 2 in Palermo saw Cría GT defeat Coronel Suárez with authority with a score of 15-8, winning Zone A of the Qualification Tournament and with it obtaining the first ticket to the 127th HSBC Argentine Open; this will be the fifth consecutive Open for Cría GT (formerly Cría Yatay). From the outset the Laprida brothers were poised to take any advantage that came their way and with Coronel Suárez’s nervousness resulting in a series of fouls, the Cría GT players used these to their benefit – Iñaki Laprida scored 10 goals out of his team’s 15 goals.  
The second match of the day was played on Field 1 in Palermo between Alegría and La Irenita II and saw the undefeated La Irenita II defeat Alegría 14-2, winning Zone B and taking the second and final place in The Argentine Open. La Irenita will now join La Dolfina as an organisation with not one but two teams in the 127th HSBC Argentine Open.
The 127th Argentine Polo Open Championship Teams
La Dolfina Saudi: Adolfo Cambiaso, David Stirling, Pablo Mac Donough & Juan Martín Nero
Ellerstina: Facundo Pieres, Hilario Ulloa, Gonzalo Pieres & Nicolás Pieres
La Dolfina Polo Ranch: Guillermo Terrera, Juan Britos,  Diego Cavanagh & Jejo Taranco
Rs Murus Sanctus: Facundo Sola, Francisco Elizalde, Sapo Caset & Alfredo Cappella Barabucci
La Natividad/Las Monjitas: Camilo Castagnola, Polito Pieres, Barto Castagnola & Ignatius Du Plessis
Los Machitos: Agustin Merlos, Mariano Aguerre, Ignacio Toccalino & Santiago Toccalino
La Ensenada/La Aguada: Segundo Bocchino, Alfredo Bigatti, Matias Torres Zavaleta & Jero Del Carril
La Irenita: Martin Podestá, Juan Gris Zavaleta, Facundo Fernández Llorente & Juan Martin Zubia
Cría GT: Valerio Zubiaurre, Magoo Laprida, Joaquín Pittaluga & Iñaki Laprida
La Irenita II: Santiago Loza, Tomás Fernández Llorente, Tito Ruiz Guiñazú & Pedro Falabella
Photograph: Cría GT & La Irenita II gave secured themselves spots in The Argentine Open. By AAP/Matias Callejo

Follow Polotimes on Twitter

Other top stories

Mon 18th Jan 2021
Santa Clara Secure Joe Barry
Win for Escobar & Magrini families

Fri 15th Jan 2021
Joe Barry Memorial Cup Final This Sunday
Santa Clara vs Beverly Polo

Mon 11th Jan 2021
Action from the USA at International Polo Club Palm Beach
Joe Barry Memorial Cup Underway

Fri 8th Jan 2021
English Polo on Pause
Government urges country to stay at home

See all news in:

End of Polo Times news page

Advertiser information Contact us Subscribe Work for us All information is subject to copyright 2015


Latest Classified

Latest Classified

 Get into Polo

Get started in polo

Information on how to get started in polo
 Destination of the Month

The global game

Holidays and breaks playing or following polo around the world

Online magazine

Login to read current and back issues of the magazine
 Find your nearest club

Club contacts

Find your nearest polo club
Cookies in Use