Polo Times Magazine Subscribe to Polo Times Home
HomeNewsTournamentsClassifiedsAbout usSubscribeContact
 
 
 
 

Wed 6th Apr 2022

La Irenita Win Republica Cup

Success for youngsters in Final

On Tuesday 29 March at the Number 1 field at Palermo, La Irenita secured themselves The Republica Cup with a 14-13 win against La Chavita. La Irenita went into the Final with a seven goal handicap advantage, stacking the odds against their opponents from the outset. Despite this, La Chavita fought back and by the end of regulation play had managed to level the scores, 13-13, pushing the match into an extra chukka. Matías Mac Donough scored the golden goal to secure victory for La Irenita, later being named Most Valuable Player. This is the first Republica Cup title for the four players, with three players being only 18-years-old and Federico Panzillo just 20-years-old. A full report will follow in the next issue of Polo Times
The Republica Cup Final Teams:
La Irenita (11): Mateo Sánchez Herrero (0), Tomás Delfino (2), Federico Panzillo (5) & Matías Mac Donough (4) 
La Chavita (18): Gastón Bardengo (3), Franco Veronesi (3), Joaquín Pittaluga (7) & Ignacio Acuña (5) 
 
Photograph: La Irenita, winners of The Republica Cup. By AAP

Follow Polotimes on Twitter
 

Other top stories


Thu 19th May 2022
Cartier Queen’s Cup
Week 1 results & upcoming fixtures

Wed 18th May 2022
Royal Windsor Horse Show
2022 Polo Pony Class results

Tue 17th May 2022
Emlor Retain Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother’s Centenary
Close 8-7 in against Four Quarters Black

Mon 16th May 2022
Twelve Oaks Take Prince of Wales
Stellar high goal debut for Wooldridge

Wed 11th May 2022
Major Christopher Hanbury Passes Away
1944 – 2022

Mon 9th May 2022
Trippetts Challenge Begins Today
Four teams competing

Thu 5th May 2022
Cartier Queen’s Cup Draw
Tournament begins on Tuesday 17 May

Wed 4th May 2022
Polo Times May Issue Out This Week!
High goal guide, international reports & social

Tue 3rd May 2022
FIP World Cup Play-Offs Underway
European Zone action at Chantilly

Tue 26th Apr 2022
Inaugural Zavaleta Perpetual Cup
Polo community unites

Mon 25th Apr 2022
Pilot Win U.S. Open!
Facundo Pieres sweeps up in post-match presentations

Thu 21st Apr 2022
U.S. Open Semi Final Results
La Elina vs Pilot on Sunday

Wed 20th Apr 2022
Pampa Norte Biotricity Secures WPL Triple Crown of Polo
Defending champions knocked off top spot

See all news in:


End of Polo Times news page

Advertiser information Contact us Subscribe Work for us All information is subject to copyright 2015

Highlights

Latest Classified

Latest Classified

Hullabaloo, around 15.1hh 2 year old Bay Mare out of Osh Kosh Osh Kosh is 15.1hh,...
 Get into Polo

Get started in polo

Information on how to get started in polo
 Destination of the Month

The global game

Holidays and breaks playing or following polo around the world
 Wallpapers

Online magazine

Login to read current and back issues of the magazine
 Find your nearest club

Club contacts

Find your nearest polo club
Cookies in Use