Polo Times Magazine Subscribe to Polo Times Home
HomeNewsTournamentsClassifiedsAbout usSubscribeContact

Tue 23rd Feb 2021

C.V. Whitney Cup Continues Tomorrow

Wins so far for Pilot, Santa Clara, La Indiana and Coca-Cola

On Sunday 21 February, The C.V. Whitney Cup continued at International Polo Club, Palm Beach. The 22 goal tournament forms the first leg of The Gauntlet of Polo and this year sees nine teams competing for their chance to win the title and with it the $125,000 prizemoney. This year’s tournament began on Wednesday 17 February and so far has seen wins for Pilot, Santa Clara, La Indiana and Coca-Cola. The first match yesterday saw Park Place secure their first win of the tournament (they lost to La Indiana on Thursday 18 February), with the boys in blue enjoying a 9-3 win against Aspen/Dutta Corp. Meanwhile, later in the day saw Adolfo Cambiaso returning to The C.V. Whitney Cup and the International Polo Club, Palm Beach for the first time since 2018, this time alongside his son Poroto for team Scone. The Cambiaso duo led Scone to a 12-5 victory against Santa Clara in an indication of things to come from this team. The action continues on Wednesday 24 February with Scone vs Cessna Polo Team and Pilot vs Tonkawa. All of the matches are being live streamed via Global Polo here
2021 C.V. Whitney Cup Teams:
Bracket 1
Scone (22): David Paradice (0), Peke Gonzalez (6), Poroto Cambiaso (6) & Adolfo Cambiaso (10)
Cessna (22): Chip Campbell (2), Ezequiel "Gallego" Martinez Ferrario (7), Jared Zenni (6) & Mariano "Nino" Obregon Jr. (7)
Santa Clara (22): Will Johnston (2), Felipe Vercellino (6), Miguel Novillo Astrada (9) & Luis Escobar (5)
Bracket 2
Coca-Cola (21½): Gillian Johnston (1½), Mackenzie Weisz (3), Julian de Lusarreta (8) & Nico Pieres (9) 
Pilot (22): Curtis Pilot (0), Kristos 'Keko' Magrini (2), Gonzalito Pieres (10) & Facundo Pieres (10)
Tonkawa (22): Jeff Hildebrand (0), Cody Ellis (3), Francisco Elizalde (9) & Sapo Caset (10)
Bracket 3
Park Place (22): Andrey Borodin (0), Matt Coppola (4), Juan Britos (8) & Hilario Ulloa (10)
La Indiana (22): Michael Bickford (2), Nico Escobar (4), Jeff Hall (6) & Polito Pieres (10)
Aspen/Dutta Corp (21): Timmy Dutta (4), Lucas Diaz Alberdi (6), Gringo Colombres (8) & Stewart Armstrong (3)
Photograph: Julian de Lusarreta in action for Coca-Cola.  By ©Alex Pacheco


Follow Polotimes on Twitter

Other top stories

Wed 16th Jun 2021
Polo Rider Cup Semi Finalists
Polo Park Zürich vs Empire Polo Club & Hong Kong Polo vs Deauville Int. Polo Club

Tue 15th Jun 2021
Talacrest to Sponsor Guard’s August 22 Goal
Prince of Wales’s Championship Cup

Mon 14th Jun 2021
Monterosso Remain Undefeated
2021 Cartier Queen’s Cup

Tue 8th Jun 2021
Oxford Retain La Martina Varsity Trophy
Win against historic rivals

Mon 7th Jun 2021
Cartier Queen’s Cup Weekend Action
Wins for Great Oaks LL, UAE Polo, Vikings & Park Place

Sun 6th Jun 2021
Horace Laffaye Passes Away
The Polo Encyclopaedia author

Wed 2nd Jun 2021
Wins for Talandracas and Great Oaks Les Lions
Cartier Queen’s Cup Day 1

Wed 2nd Jun 2021
Delfín Uranga New AAP President

Tue 1st Jun 2021
Cartier Queen’s Cup Begins Today!
15 teams competing in three leagues

Tue 1st Jun 2021
Thai Polo Thrill in Prince of Wales Final
Louis Hine scores golden goal

Thu 27th May 2021
Justerini & Brooks Prince of Wales Final
Thai Polo & Monterosso qualify

Wed 19th May 2021
Cartier Queen’s Cup Draw
15 teams line-up for 2021 tournament

See all news in:

End of Polo Times news page

Advertiser information Contact us Subscribe Work for us All information is subject to copyright 2015


Latest Classified

Latest Classified

POLO BALLS - NEW ZEALAND Postage to Australia is NZ$135, to America is NZ$376,...
 Get into Polo

Get started in polo

Information on how to get started in polo
 Destination of the Month

The global game

Holidays and breaks playing or following polo around the world

Online magazine

Login to read current and back issues of the magazine
 Find your nearest club

Club contacts

Find your nearest polo club
Cookies in Use