Polo Times Magazine Subscribe to Polo Times Home
HomeNewsTournamentsClassifiedsAbout usSubscribeContact

Tue 26th Mar 2024

The U.S. Open Polo Championship Fixture & Teams

Tournament begins on Wednesday 27 March

The highlight of the winter polo season in Florida is The U.S. Open Polo Championship and this championship marks the culmination of The Gauntlet of Polo, following The C.V. Whitney Cup and The USPA Gold Cup. The U.S. Open was first played in 1904 and in 2004, exactly one hundred years after the tournament’s inception, the U.S. Open relocated to Wellington, Florida, where it has been held ever since.
The 2024 U.S. Open Polo Championship will feature the identical lineup of nine teams (Coca-Cola, La Dolfina, La Fe, Pilot, Park Place, Tamera, The Dutta Corp, Valiente, Clearwater) seen in the USPA Gold Cup. Gillian Johnston, the sole female participant in the series, aims to reclaim her position on the podium; Johnston previously clinched The U.S. Open title in 2002 alongside her Coca-Cola team. Valiente and Pilot come into the fray as two-time champions, while reigning titleholder Park Place seeks a consecutive triumph. Furthermore, the competition will showcase four 10 goal players (Hilario Ulloa, Facundo Pieres, Poroto Cambiaso, Adolfo Cambiaso). Adolfo Cambiaso leads the pack with nine U.S. Open victories; Facundo Pieres follows with six, and Hilario Ulloa with four, including his 2023 triumph with Park Place. The Cambiaso father-son duo will once again vie for victory, with Adolfo's son, Poroto, aiming for his second U.S. Open triumph. The winner of the U.S. Open Polo Championship will take home $100,000 in prize money, with the Final scheduled for Sunday 21 April. 
The U.S. Open Polo Championship Teams:
Clearwater (22): Chip Campbell (1), Raul ‘Gringo’ Colombres (8), Lucas Criado Jr. (7) & Jared Zenni (6)
Coca-Cola (22): Gillian Johnston (0), Kristos ‘Keko’ Magrini (6), Pablo ‘Polito’ Pieres (9) & Victorino ‘Torito’ Ruiz Jorba (7)
Pilot (22): Curtis Pilot (0), Facundo Pieres (10), Santiago Torres (6) & Antonio Heguy (6)
Dutta Corp (22): Timmy Dutta (4), Joaquin Avendaño (4), Mariano ‘Nino’ Obregon Jr. (6) & Tomas Garcia del Rio (8)
Park Place (22): Andrey Borodin (0), Juan Britos (9), Hilario Ulloa (10) & Marcos Bignoli (3)
La Fe (22): Louis Devaleix (1), Lucas Diaz Alberdi (6), Francisco Elizalde (9) & Roberto Bilbao (6)
La Dolfina (22): Alejandro Aznar (0), Rufino Merlos (3), Poroto Cambiaso (10) & Tomás Panelo (9)
Tamera (22): Alejandro Poma (1), Segundo Saravi (5), Matias Torres Zavaleta (8) & Diego Cavanagh (8)
Valiente (22): Bob Jornayvaz (0), Mariano ‘Peke’ Gonzalez Jr. (7), Federico Panzillo (5) & Adolfo Cambiaso (10)
Photograph: The U.S. Open Polo Championship begins on Wednesday 27 March. By ©David Lominska

Follow Polotimes on Twitter

Other top stories

Tue 16th Jul 2024
Out-Sourcing Inc. Royal Charity Polo Cup Raises £1,000,000

Mon 15th Jul 2024
The British Open Polo Championship for the Cowdray Gold Cup Semi Finalists
La Dolfina Great Oaks vs King Power & Dubai vs Talandracas

Fri 12th Jul 2024
Thoroughbreds In Sport Polo Day
38 horses competed in three classes

Thu 11th Jul 2024
Cowdray Gold Cup Quarter Finalists Decided
Quarter Finals scheduled for 13 – 14 July

Wed 10th Jul 2024
Penalty Shootout Tomorrow to Determine Quarter Finals
La Dolfina Great Oaks, Dubai & Talandracas already qualified

Fri 5th Jul 2024
England Coronation Cup Team Confirmed
Argentina vs England on Saturday 27 July at Guards Polo Club

Wed 3rd Jul 2024
AAP Announces Spring Season Dates
Triple Crown will begin on 24 September

Tue 2nd Jul 2024
Polo Times July Issue Out This Week!
Packed with reports from across the UK & much more!

Mon 1st Jul 2024
Emlor Black Win Apsley Cup
Narrow 10-9 win against Aureus Polo

Fri 28th Jun 2024
British Open Polo Championship for the Cowdray Gold Cup
Results & Upcoming Fixtures

Wed 26th Jun 2024
England Win Diamond Jubilee Trophy
6-3 triumph over Argentina

Tue 25th Jun 2024
Ferne Park Win Warwickshire Cup
11-9 victory against Green Gates

Mon 24th Jun 2024
Occitanie Lift Polo Nations Cup
MVP Simon Zavaleta scores seven of his team’s goals

Tue 18th Jun 2024
Lycetts International Thoroughbred Polo Championship Returns on 5 July
Three classes, live auction & £20,000 prize money

See all news in:

End of Polo Times news page

Advertiser information Contact us Subscribe Work for us All information is subject to copyright 2015


Latest Classified

Latest Classified

 Get into Polo

Get started in polo

Information on how to get started in polo
 Destination of the Month

The global game

Holidays and breaks playing or following polo around the world

Online magazine

Login to read current and back issues of the magazine
 Find your nearest club

Club contacts

Find your nearest polo club
Cookies in Use